Serena Williams Had Some Controversy And Everybody Is Losing There Minds!

A little bit of controversy at the final match in the US Open between Serena Williams and Naomi Osaka. The chair umpire charged Serena Williams with a coaching penalty after the umpire saw Williams coach gesturing to her. Although it’s common practice for a players coach to gesture during a match and almost 99.9% of the time no penalty is given, it was a little odd to have it given especially during a final match. Williams became upset with the umpire and yelled “I don’t cheat to win, I’d rather lose”. Williams ended up losing the match in two straight sets and Willams yelled to the umpire after the match saying the umpire was “a thief”. I didn’t know tennis could be so controversial, it’s insane that an umpire would assess a call like this in a such an important match but this proves once again how some rules in this sport just make no sense!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s